Why Floundering is Good

This is a nice little article on the benefits of strategic floundering.  I’m both a teacher and a student at Purdue.  Floundering is what I do best. =)  The learning paradox is that you learn best when you know least what you’re doing … in theory! 

In all honesty, I’ve used this pedagogical technique quite a bit and to good effect.  As a learner, it can be a bit daunting and unsettling to experience being adrift, but it comes with great reward.  The key is trusting the process, not being abandoned, and reflection.  So go ahead, my friends, get lost!

 

p.s. perhaps this is the guiding principle to my social media immersion process this semester…? 😉

2 Comments

August 22, 2013 · 1:07 pm

2 responses to “Why Floundering is Good by Anne Murphy Paul

  1. Very true, and we know this from research on learning. However, we do not allow enough for experimentation and failure in our classes. Big issue. I’ve written some about this on one of my other blogs.

  2. ariadnacaixach

    Interesting concept… I should try to flounder! Anyway, very nice post! thx

Leave a Reply

